SOUTHCOM Area of Responsibility mapThe U.S. Southern Command Area of Responsibility encompasses 31 countries and 16 dependencies and areas of special sovereignty. The region represents about one-sixth of the landmass of the world assigned to regional unified commands.

SOUTHCOM´s Area of Responsibility includes:
  • The land mass of Latin America south of Mexico
  • The waters adjacent to Central and South America
  • The Caribbean Sea


Information about countries and areas of special sovereignty (