FROM THE U.S. STATE DEPT; U.S. CITIZEN TRAVELERS - COVID-19 State Department Alert TravelIF YOU ARE CURRENTLY IMPACTED BY THE COVID-19 TRAVEL BAN & NEED IMMEDIATE ASSISTANCE, Call 1-888-407-4747 (U.S./Canada); +1-202-501-4444 (overseas); or contact the nearest embassy.
HomeAboutArea of Responsibility

Area of Responsibility

The U.S. Southern Command Area of Responsibility encompasses 31 countries and 16 dependencies and areas of special sovereignty. The region represents about one-sixth of the landmass of the world assigned to regional unified commands.

SOUTHCOM´s Area of Responsibility includes:

  • The land mass of Latin America south of Mexico

  • The waters adjacent to Central and South America

  • The Caribbean Sea

Information about countries and areas of special sovereignty ( 

Antigua and Barbuda  |  Argentina  |  Barbados  |  Belize  |  Bolivia  |  Brazil  |  Chile  |  Colombia  |  Costa Rica  |  Cuba  |  Dominica  |  Dominican Republic  |  Ecuador  |  El Salvador  |  Grenada  |  Guatemala  |  Guyana |  Haiti  |  Honduras  |  Jamaica  |  Nicaragua  |  Panama  |  Paraguay  |  Peru  |  Saint Kitts and Nevis  |  Saint Lucia  |  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines  |  Suriname  |  Trinidad and Tobago |  Uruguay  |  Venezuela  |  State Dept. Fact Sheet on Dependencies and Areas of Special Sovereignty

SOUTHCOM Area of Responsibility Map

Map of Central America & South America delineating SOUTHCOM area of responsiblity