UNITAS is a longstanding, multinational maritime exercise conducted annually in Latin America and the Caribbean to enhance security cooperation and improve coalition operations.  UNITAS Atlantic and UNITAS Amphib LX were hosted by Brazil Aug. 19 - 30 and included U.S. Navy and Marine forces training with militaries from 13 countries.  From June 24 – July 3, Chile hosted maritime forces from 12 countries for UNITAS LX Pacific.

Recent Photos


UNITAS Atlantic and UNITAS Amphib 2019

Naval forces from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and the United States participated in UNITAS LX (60), an annual multinational exercise in Rio de Janeiro, Aug. 19. Militaries from 13 nations took part, including 14 ships, one submarine, eight helicopters, and five aircraft. This year, in addition to the sea operation, there will be an amphibious phase, which will simulate coordinated humanitarian assistance delivery to Marambaia Island.

Participating Countries

In addition to the United States and Brazil, Argentina and Peru contributed ships and aircraft. Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, and the United Kingdom sent personnel to participate, and Japan and Portugal observed, totaling 13 nations.

Participating U.S. Forces

  • USS Carter Hall (LSD 50)
  • MDSU-2
  • EOD detachment (EOD 2)
  • VP-26
  • USCG Lant area
  • Defense Institute for Medical Operations (DIMO)
  • Special Purpose Marine Air-Ground Task Force-Southern Command (SPMAGTF-SC)
  • U.S Marine Corps Forces, South (MARFORSOUTH)
  • U.S. Naval Forces Southern Command/U.S. Fourth Fleet (USNAVSO/FOURTHFLT)
  • Destroyer Squadron (DESRON) 40 staff 

UNITAS LX (60) Pacific

UNITAS focused on strengthening our existing regional partnerships and encouraging the establishment of new relationships through the exchange of maritime mission-focused knowledge and expertise during the exercise. The exercise develops and tests participating navies’ capabilities to respond to a wide variety of maritime missions as a unified force. 

This year's exercise included 10 warships that conducted maritime maneuvering operations in the Pacific Ocean.

Participating Countries

Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Germany, Honduras, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Turkey, United States, and the United Kingdom.

Participating U.S. Forces

  • USS Michael Murphy (DDG 112)
  • Mobile Diving and Salvage Unit 2
  • Patrol Squadron (VP) 4
  • Destroyer Squadron 40
  • U.S. 4th Fleet


UNITAS, Latin for ‘unity,’ is the world’s longest-running multinational maritime exercise. Conceived in 1959 and first executed in 1960, UNITAS is a demonstration of U.S. commitment to the region and the strong relationships forged between our partner nations and their militaries.